Why You Should Join Toastmasters

You might just discover your deepest truth

Gregory Russell Benedikt
The Daily Cuppa Grande

--

Picture of the award ceremony at our latest Toastmasters meeting

When was the last time you acknowledged yourself?

Or gave yourself credit for what you’ve accomplished?

I don’t know if I’ve ever done that.

My inner critic tells me that a quick pat on the back will turn into full-blown narcissism.

But that’s total BS and I know it.

So in an attempt to practice what I preach, here we go…

Writing this is a metaphorical high-five from present Gregory to my past self.

For having the courage to FINALLY join a Toastmasters club over a year ago.

It was something that I had said I wanted to do for years.

But like nearly everyone, I kept putting it off.

It took my sister GETTING MARRIED to finally move me into action.

I had a best man speech to give and I didn’t want to ruin her special day.

So I went to Toastmasters every week for over a year.

I gave speeches, I volunteered to be president, and I sweat through a lot of shirts.

In the end, it all paid off.

--

--