Wings That Swing Me

Into flight.

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande
2 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

Like a thief in the night, she murmured,
Loose change should see me right,
I fumbled and tumbled for a shilling,
Then she disappeared into the night.

And then in this moment of madness,
I dreamed this was too good to miss,
So, I changed the magical moment,
Into the most beautiful kiss.

I can mould my imagination,
To think whatever I wish,
And make a dream different and seem,
A time that’s too good to miss.

I can dream in technicolour,
Or change it to black and white,
Whatever the whim, I find I can swim,
Into a fantasy of delight.

Pieces of the past unravel,
A story that has no end,
A realisation of beauty,
In a phantasmagorical blend.

These are dreams that drift on by,
Like clouds, some drop rain,
The thoughts that are caught in a veil,
A melody and refrain.

I wouldn’t miss the moment,
When my mind opens up like a flower,
And I see the untouched edges,
That my dreams can empower.

Sprinkles of stars drift from the sky
I save it in a bottle till when,
I mix them up with moondust,
And stir with my silver pen.

This is the bliss that’s too good to miss,
Pure delight in the night,
A place to set my sight upon,
Wings that swing me into flight.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.