30-Minute Meals Or All Day Cooking

Cooking Against A Culture of Convenience

CJ McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Aug 31, 2023

--

Photo by Tangerine Newt on Unsplash

Dinner in thirty minutes.

The appeal of efficiency and delicious homemade food, all in less than the length of a sitcom, is alluring.

This culture of convenience and speed shaped the way that I came to learn how to cook.

If I start cooking at 5pm, dinner can be served at 5:30.

This is the promise of countless TV shows and cookbooks.

It’s even repeated in recipes found online for easy weeknight cooking.

Sometimes, this strategy works beautifully.

But many times, I don’t have the skills, the ingredients, or the energy needed to pull off a thirty-minute dinner.

Instead, I’m learning to make cooking something that I do all day long.

Sometimes, a meal is ready in less than thirty minutes. Sometimes more.

I hope something delicious is in your future!

--

--

CJ McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I'm a writer, musician, and a dad. I play the trumpet. I write creative nonfiction and short fiction about cooking, food, and the curiosities of life.