Always Read to The Kids

Julia A. Keirns
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Mar 24, 2024

--

Julie reading to granddaughter. Photo by Rich.

I always loved reading to the kids more than they enjoyed sitting still and being read to. Now I have grandchildren I try to read to. They don’t seem to enjoy sitting still any more than my own kids did, but I keep trying.

I buy them books, make them sit down and read to them. There’s nothing like forcing a love of books onto your kids and grandkids. Maybe someday one of them will enjoy books or reading as much as I do.

I used to have quite an extensive library of books — classic and modern. It contained a little bit of everything.

Someday in my old age when I am lying on my death bed, I hope my children and grandchildren will sit by my bed with a book in their hand and read to me.

--

--

Julia A. Keirns
The Daily Cuppa

Currently living in an RV full time and traveling across North America. The goal is simply to write about it. Editor of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and ROD.