Bacon On a Doughnut?

Delicious!

Jennifer Dunne
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Nov 3, 2023

--

Photo: Chris Connelly, CC 2.0

I’ve driven past Duck Donuts many times in the past few months, and each time, wondered what ducks had to do with donuts. Today, I finally satisfied my curiosity.

It’s a donut shop chain, whose first store was in the town of Duck, on the Outer Banks. My last visit to Duck was in early 2007, before they opened.

Their gimmick is that all donuts are made to order.

A little machine cooks two basic donuts at a time. Then they get various glazes, toppings, and finishing drizzles.

I ordered the Bacon in the Sun donut: maple glaze, chopped bacon topping, and salted caramel drizzle. It could have gone either way, depending on if the bacon was greasy or not, but it was delicious. The salted caramel gave it that little extra pop that pushed it over from just “tasty”.

Jennifer

--

--

Jennifer Dunne
The Daily Cuppa

I help visionaries create real change in the world. 90-day Vision to Reality™️ program. For the serious stuff visit https://www.linkedin.com/in/jenniferdunneco/