Cooking up a Kitchen Practice

Baking While Injured

A Little Fresh Bread Never Hurt Anyone

CJ McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
May 6, 2024

--

“Injury Free Bread” author photo

I fell off the curb.

I acquired a few bruises, some incredible swelling, and a cool boot.

I’m supposed to “stay off my foot, and keep it elevated.”

For TWO WEEKS!!!

This is no easy feat.

There’s too much to do.

I know the rest is necessary.

But when everyone in the house is out enjoying the sunshine and lovely weather, my willpower falters.

I hobble to the kitchen.

Baking up a quick loaf of bread won’t hurt.

Of course, this won’t be much of a secret.

The kitchen appliances really do all the work of kneading and baking, right?

Thanks for reading! I hope something delicious and injury-free is in your future!

--

--

CJ McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I'm a writer, musician, and a dad. I play the trumpet. I write creative nonfiction and short fiction about cooking, food, and the curiosities of life.