Big Mouth’s Taken a Vacation

But not by choice

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Apr 15, 2024

--

a red diorama of a jaunty brown-haired woman with a big mouth talking
“Big-mouthed woman on a train:” Author-generated diorama created with DALL-E 3

I’ve lost my voice.

Again.

It’s not too surprising.
I talk a lot.
But, it has been a while since I lost my voice.

Yesterday, I was experiencing some congestion from seasonal allergies. However, instead of slowing down, taking it easy, and closing my mouth, I pushed through. I talked up a storm. Like a dum-dum.

Then last night I slept with my mouth open.

This morning, as I attempted to take up my daily chatter, there was nothing. Nada. No sound. I couldn’t speak.

Despite the countless cups of hot lemon water I consumed today, I’m still voiceless.

I thought it would be a relief for my family.

But, to my astonishment, they miss me.

© A A McRae 2024

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites