Bing vs. ChatGPT

Who is the best research assistant?

Jennifer Dunne
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Apr 22, 2023

--

Photo: Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

For my new Caribbean guidebook, I wanted cost of living by island, sorted from most expensive to least. Top of my list was St. Barts, because I couldn’t find a cost of living number anywhere.

ChatGPT quickly came back with an ordered list, giving a wide range for each island. (St. Barts was tied for 2nd place.) But it left off important places like Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. More importantly, I had no idea where it got its data from.

Bing basically threw up its hands in disgust and complained that there wasn’t a single source for that information. I know. That’s why I was asking for help compiling it. I had to prompt for each individual island. But it did list citations.

I’m using ChatGPT, then having Bing check its work.

Jennifer

--

--

Jennifer Dunne
The Daily Cuppa

I help visionaries create real change in the world. 90-day Vision to Reality™️ program. For the serious stuff visit https://www.linkedin.com/in/jenniferdunneco/