A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Mar 3, 2024

Conjure your favorite cookie!

a vintage cartoon drawing of a confident brown-haired woman in slacks surrounded by stacks of cookbooks in a retro peach kitchen
“Determined Cookie Baker:” AI-generated image

What would it be?

My family is partial to a chewy chocolate chip cookie. So this is the go-to. However, for the past months, there’ve been white chocolate chips languishing in our cupboards.

We had planned to use them during the holidays but never got to it. For the past two weeks, our oldest has been begging me to make chocolate cookies with white chocolate chips.

So this week I did! I made the dough, shaped and chilled them in a silicone meatball mold so they’d be thick and chewy, then froze the dough balls before baking for extra chewiness.

They taste like chocolate cake cookies and the kids can’t get enough of them!

I’ve decided I’ll try a new cookie each week. Next week: girl-scout-inspired “thin mints.”

What do you recommend?

©A A McRae2024

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites