Cookies For My Dad

How to create a food memory

--

Photo by Emily D from Pexels

Soft, chewy oatmeal cookies with a hint of cinnamon, loaded with raisins and chocolate chips- these are my dad’s favorite cookies.

Today I will bake these for him as it is his birthday soon.

When we lovingly create food for another, it expands our heart outwards towards them. The kindness and intention of our work are on the plate.

I remember my dad picking me up from school. Sometimes we would stop by an ice cream store and get chocolate sodas.

He would often have to explain how to make them, adding chocolate ice cream, syrup, and soda water. It was an old-fashioned treat.

I sensed love from him in those moments, sitting together, drinking our treats.

Do you have a food memory close to your heart?

--

--

Trista Signe Ainsworth
The Daily Cuppa

I write stories of love and encouragement from my heart to yours.