Adrienne Parkhurst
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Jun 1, 2021

--

Finishing a book gives me a double dose of dopamine.

Picture of coffee cup with “A” on it, sitting on journal with pen. Stack of seven books are stacked in the background.
Photo of author’s books in queue

First, I close my book and burst with pride. Next, my mind buzzes with anticipation. What should I read next?

I have seven books in queue. Some of them are gifts (summer romances). Some of them are impulse buys (John Green and Oprah cannot be denied). Others sit and wait patiently for their turn (The Only Woman in The Room and Black Buck).

When I struggle to choose my next escape, I stack my queued books and read the first page of each one. My brain tells me within a page what it wants. Sometimes it craves knowledge. Sometimes it needs a good cry. Sometimes it wants to chuckle.

I grabbed Big Magic and couldn’t put it down. Looks like my brain needs creative inspiration!

By Adrienne Parkhurst — Looking for Magic

--

--

Adrienne Parkhurst
The Daily Cuppa

Mom. Wife. Writer. Editor. Healthcare Freelance Writer. Lifetime Learner. Flawed Leader. Sharing my life lessons through personal essays and memoirs.