Julia A. Keirns
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Apr 13, 2024
Photo by Ricky Rew on Unsplash

For the last 24 hours, I’ve listened to the rain splatter against the camper walls.

It’s not a gentle pitter-patter but more of a steadier drumming sound. It’s relaxing to listen to as it masks the silence and blocks out other distracting sounds that echo in the quiet.

The repetitive natural sound relaxes me and quiets the thoughts in my mind. The steady rhythm calms me and makes me feel drowsy. When it rains, it causes us to slow down, stay inside, and rest. At night it helps me sleep. During the day it helps me focus.

So the next time you hear the rain, take a deep breath, listen to the rhythm, and let the relaxation wash over you!

--

--

Julia A. Keirns
The Daily Cuppa

Currently living in an RV full time and traveling across North America. The goal is simply to write about it. Editor of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and ROD.