Elanor Sue
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2023

--

Banana, held in hand like a telephone.
Photo by Yasin Arıbuğa on Unsplash

Friendly Story — 9

He agreed to go to the symphony with me, and we each bought our own ticket online. The symphony date was in two weeks.

Meanwhile, I worked on developing our relationship over the phone.

I wanted to become more sociable and to have an exuberant personality. To this end, I did some conversation role-playing.

First, I wrote a brief script, and then I grabbed my cell phone and pretended I was talking with him. I used my voice to play two characters, “Jack” and “Jill.” Jill called Jack.

Jack: Hello?

Jill: Hi! Jack? This is Jill. How are you?

Jack: Oh, hi! I’m well. Good to hear from you.

Jill: I wanted to actually speak to you on the phone rather than text. I mean, a lot of people just text these days. But talking is more personal, don’t you think?

Him: Yeah. I agree. I’m glad you called. Your voice is like music to my ears.

Me: Ha, ha! I used to mumble but I guess not anymore.

You might have guessed, I’m Jill. Well, actually, my name isn’t really Jill, but Jill is my alter ego. Jack and Jill are the two names I use to role-play. I like to pretend I’m an actor. When I’m playing Jill, my voice becomes more animated.

It’s not like I’m trying to be something I’m not. After all, Jill is a lot like me, just more socially self-assured. She’s the ideal self that I’m becoming.

Click 🔘 to Continue

--

--