A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Feb 13, 2024

Goodbye, little sparrow.

a vector drawing of a realistic sparrow agains a vibrant blue, orange, and yellow backdrop
“Little Sparrow:” Author-prompted AI image generated with DALL-E

Goodbye, little sparrow.

Your heart hummed true,
Your wings beat strong.

Goodbye, little sparrow.

Oft were you unnoticed
but never ceased to sing.

Goodbye, little sparrow.

Your trill in my tears,
your tune, beyond my ears.

Goodbye, little sparrow.

May we meet again,
In the song of the sun.

I don’t navigate grief well. I am frequently uncertain of how to respond to grief, my own, and the grief of others.

Yet, every term I have a student or two who experiences profound loss.

I try to hold space for grief, to let the student be, however they need to be. And, I know I fail…a lot.

But I will continue to try.

This piece is one of my attempts to hold that space.

© A A McRae 2024

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites