I Belong to a Tiny Minority of the World’s Population

Mukundarajan V N
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Jul 9, 2023

--

HNDPTESBC@pixabay.com

I’m differently abled, not handicapped, though.

My uniqueness is how I use my hands, my handedness, the inborn trait that makes us choose one dominant hand over the other. I’m mixed- handed.

The world’s majority of the population, about 90%, are right-handed or dextrous. The remaining are mostly left-handed or sinistral.

There’s a tiny group of people who are ambidextrous. They can use both hands skilfully.

Then, there’re people like me, who are mixed-handed. I have a dominant hand perform certain tasks. I use my left hand to pick up things and hand over things. I use my right hand to eat and write.

My mixed-handedness often collides with cultural norms. The shopkeepers frown on me when I hand over money with my left hand, considered inauspicious.

Society’s blindness to diversity is its problem.

--

--

Mukundarajan V N
The Daily Cuppa

Retired banker living in India. Avid reader. I write to learn, inform and inspire. Believe in ethical living and sustainable development. vnmukund@gmail.com