I Said No

Anup Uniyal
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Nov 3, 2023
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

I said No,

With a defiant voice.

Endorsing a conscious choice,

Sans the outer noise.

I said No,

To the ask.

Hard to breathe,

With a Nixon mask.

I said No,

Without any contempt.

The heart didn’t accept,

And mind a tad circumspect.

I said No,

I still care.

Time is limited to share.

I said No,

No regret, no fears.

Behold ye ghosts of guilt and judgment,

The soul illuminates within,

Haunting disappears.

I said No,

To tame the tempest early.

Lest it swirls within,

Turning my tranquil world topsy-turvy.

I said No,

To prioritize and make space in life.

Not to break trust,

But to set the expectations right.

Shattering mirage of false hopes and promises,

Mirroring the true reflection of my feelings.

Inverting my heart,

Transforming into a spade.

Digging deep inside,

It’s the right choice I made.

--

--

Anup Uniyal
The Daily Cuppa

Engineer by degree and consultant by profession. Wide interests: Spirituality, Self-Improvement, Yoga & Meditation, Nature, Humor, Storytelling, Technology