A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Aug 5, 2023

--

I’ll take summa dat strawberry shortcake!

Photo by Girl with red hat on Unsplash

I’m sitting at the counter of a very fancy restaurant. It is run by one of my niblings. She is six and I love her like the sun.

“What’ll ya have, Aunt A?”

“Whaddya got?”

“Uh…cake.”

“What kinda cake?”

“Lotsa kinds.”

“What about strawberry shortcake?”

“Yea, I can do that.”

“I’ll take summa dat!”

Scramble, Scramble.
Scrape, scrape.
Scoop, Scoop.

“Here ya go, Aunt A.”

“Yum! What else do ya got?”

“How much time do you got?”

“All night?”

“Yea! Or at least till Mom tells us it's time for bed. Want some coffee?”

“Yea!”

  • Nibling=children of a sibling

© A A McRae 2023

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites