This is the image Bing created when I gave them the following description: “I think Bing AI is ageist against people over 50 and how they look”.

Is Bing AI Ageist?

Just because someone is over 50 doesn’t mean they’re grey and wrinkly!

Barb Dalton
Published in
Jul 12, 2024

--

For my spam story, I asked Bing AI to help. I was shocked when they came up with these choices for the following description:

A woman in her 50s sitting in front of her computer is getting frazzled because of all the spam mail she keeps receiving.

All images in this story were generated by Bing AI

That’s not someone in their 50s! Jeez, Bing! I feel insulted.

I changed the description to ‘in her 40’s’. Aside from the first image the other three are more suitable.

Perhaps Bing is ageist about women?

Nope!

These images were generated when I changed the request to ‘A man in his 50s’

Apparently, if you’re 50, you’re grey and wrinkly. What whippersnapper is behind this?!

--

--

Barb Dalton

Mum to 3 humans, 2 fur balls. Kiwi-Canuck. Nursing Instructor by day; rants, reminisces and rhymes by night. Owner of Nursing Notes, Editor at The Daily Cuppa