Adrienne Parkhurst
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Oct 15, 2022

--

It’s important to read Halloween costume labels.

Legends of Zelda Link costume package front with image of kid wearing green tunic and elf hat along with mustard pants, and brown boots. The package bottom right corner says “Toy sword, pants, and boots not included.”
Author’s Photo of Link Packaging

As soon as a pop-up Halloween store posts its neon banner, I’m there.

Luckily, my boys share in my enthusiasm, and we went to pick out costumes in August.

We opened the glass doors and the boys scurried to a creepy display. Within seconds, they triggered a domino effect of robotic screeches and cackles.

Energized, they quickly found their costumes. Since my oldest son’s costume was such a steal, I reluctantly bought him a sword and hoped he wouldn’t blind himself or his brother.

When we got home, they rushed into the house to pull on their new identities.

“Mommy! Look at my drip!”

I find my oldest battling an invisible foe wearing his emerald tunic and matching elf hat.

“Where are your pants?”

He stops swishing his sword. “What pants?”

Next time, I’ll read the fine print.

--

--

Adrienne Parkhurst
The Daily Cuppa

Mom. Wife. Writer. Editor. Healthcare Freelance Writer. Lifetime Learner. Flawed Leader. Sharing my life lessons through personal essays and memoirs.