A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Feb 12, 2024

“It’s just a little homework, kid.”

a vector drawing of a three-hole-punched blue-lined paper with a black pencil at the top
“Homework:” Author-prompted AI-generated image with DALL-E 3

I lean over to nudge our oldest.

“Let’s just get it done, then we can go out and play.”

My partner is sorting through their lunch boxes, and I am sitting at our kitchen table with piles of completed school work, assignment prompts, and the kids’ agendas with lists of “to-dos” scrawled in the Monday slot.

“R, can you please stop humming your story problems so E can focus?!”

Whyyyy? It helps me think. ”

“Ugh! Why do we have homework?! We just did a full day of work at school!”

Both kids have been at school since 7:30 this morning. I was there for lunch duty. My partner picked them up at 3.

They’re tired; we’re tired.

But, it’s just a little homework, right?

©A A McRae2024

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites