Lessons from Play-Doh to Plato

Playing and learning

Randy Runtsch
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Apr 5, 2024

--

Plato, Trinity College, Dublin. © RRuntsch.

“The price good men pay for indifference to public affairs is to be ruled by evil men.” ― Plato

As a little boy, I heard the name Plato. Unsurprisingly, I pronounced it as “Play-Doh” until I knew better.

My playmates and I were obsessed with Play-Doh, a doughy clay-like substance. We squeezed it into pancakes, shaped it into cars and animals, and licked it out of curiosity.

Playing with Play-Doh taught me how to cooperate with others and never to drop it on my mother’s carpet.

I gave up Play-Doh when my children were small. Today, the lessons of the Greek philosopher Plato appeal to me more. However, his teachings are challenging to apply.

“There is truth in wine and children.” ― Plato

PS — Play-Doh does not taste good.

--

--

Randy Runtsch
The Daily Cuppa

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer