Love Avocado? Maybe Not After Hearing What Its Origins Allegedly Are…

Barb Dalton
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Jan 17, 2024

--

Image by sandid from Pixabay

Just like I’ve never thought to wash an avocado before eating, I’ve never considered its roots; the origin of the word. Idle internet scrolling tweaked my curiosity when a random Facebook post suggested the word meant testicles.

What the heck? I had to investigate further!

Blame the Aztecs; they came up with the word āhuacatl to describe the fruit. The literal translation today is ‘testicle.’ ¹

I’m not an expert on the male appendage, but I guess the shape and overall structure of the fruit swayed their thinking.

However, before you get grossed out or overly excited, it’s been debunked as more of a euphemism.

Balderdash or lost in translation?

I’ll let you contemplate the next time you slice into avocado flesh and remove that large seed…

¹The avocado story

--

--

Barb Dalton
The Daily Cuppa

Mum to 3 humans; Cat lover. A Kiwi-Canuck. Nursing Instructor by day; rants and reminisces by night. Owner of Nursing Notes and a proud Booster of A+ stories