Love Hawaiian Style Part II

If You Only Knew the Whole Story

James Beaufait
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Feb 6, 2022

--

Private Photo by Marise Fennell

The Lilikoi Cheesecake lit my passions and kept me awake for days dreaming of my next rendezvous. Then, I discovered a local restaurant that serves fresh Lilikoi ice tea! Talk about a loving thirst-quenching tropical libation! Some say it’s an aphrodisiac, I think the jam is a loving spoonful.

But the whole story begins in Australia. A clever Aussie brought some purple plants over in 1880 and planted them in the Lilikoi District of Maui. The fruit took the district’s name and all the islands by storm.

There are many varieties of Lilikoi purple (Brazil), yellow (Australia), and my favorite is the Jamaican Lilikoi (Jamaica?). It’s a step above heaven.

We have all three varieties blooming and bearing fruit in our blissed-out garden.

Big Island hugs to the Aussies!

--

--

James Beaufait
The Daily Cuppa

Living our dream off-grid in Hawaii; passionate about creative expression: Wabi-sabi stories, living and dreaming consciously, and communing with Mother Nature.