A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Apr 3, 2023

Lunch lady

Two people in aprons rolling out dough with rolling pin
Photo by Katerina Holmes on Pexels

I love to bake, but I rarely cook. This is partially because my partner is a fantastic cook, and partially because, while I love to eat, I am an uninventive chef. If it were up to me we’d eat a lot of meatloaf. So it took everyone by surprise when I started volunteering in a school cafeteria.

Once a week, I don a headband, grab my trusty fannypack, and head to school. For two hours a week, I get to be a lunch lady. I don’t have to plan the meals or order food. Instead, I get to help prep, serve, clean, chat with the kids, and spend some time with the most lovely women I have ever met. I love Mondays. This is not my full-time job, but I kinda wish it was.

© A A McRae 2023

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites