A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
May 9, 2024

My hernia jello has been repurposed!

a diorama of a little blond boy clutching his face in a huge bowl of yellow jello
“Jello Boy:” Author-prompted AI image generated with DALL-E 3

Last year while recovering from hernia surgery nothing sounded good. But, I was hungry.

My mother-in-law suggested Jello. EUREKA! Jello was just the ticket!

Yum! Yum! Yum! I had it with crackers. I had it with pain medicine. I had it for lunch. I had it for dinner. I had it for dessert. My partner couldn’t make it fast enough.

How had I forgotten about this simple delight? I vowed never to forget Jello!

And then I recovered and my love for Jello was forgotten…again.

Until TODAY!

Our oldest complains of a sore mouth as he adjusts to new orthodontia.

My partner scours the pantry. We have no applesauce! We have no yogurt! We have no pudding!

“But guess what I did find A.A.?”

“What?”

“Hernia Jello!”

“EUREKA!”

©A A McRae2024

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites