Bright red maple leaves on our planted tree, now 16 year ago. Seen through the pine needles of an old ponderosa pine. The sun highlights the colors and patterns that attracted my attention.
Photo by Author

Nature’s Colors and Patterns

PHOTOGRAPHS TO PARAGRAPHS

Thomas Sparley
Published in
1 min readOct 30, 2022

--

What do you see first? The colors or the patterns.

I was looking around the backyard for a unique perspective of our trees. The sun appeared from hiding in the clouds. I noticed so much more color than just 5 minutes ago.

As I gazed at the choices of color, I looked up through the ponderosa pine branches and was amazed by the bright red leaves of our 16-year-old maple tree.

Then my eyes refocused on the intricate patterns of pine needles. Add the clear blue sliver of sky and my composition was complete. You will discover such moments when you just enjoy the surroundings.

Sit on a rock or your back deck to spend your time discovering what attracts your artistic eye. This is how I discovered the photo above on October 18, 2022 @ 4:38 PM.

Enjoy your moments.

--

--

Thomas Sparley

53 years as explorer, writer, photographer. Photographs to Paragraphs. One-eye writing to share experiences of learning to adapt. 28-yrs geologist.