EXPLORING FOOD

Om Ali, the National Dessert of Egypt

Christina Daniels
The Daily Cuppa

--

Om Ali by Ziko. Photo By Author.

Most people know more about the Pharaohs than Egyptian food. I first went to an Egyptian restaurant after I met my partner Ziko. He also makes Om Ali exceptionally well, and with love.

Om Ali translates into Mother of Ali. It is named after the wife of the Sultan of Egypt and the Mother of Ali who instructed her cooks to make the most delicious dessert ever created. She distributed the recipe across Egypt.

Om Ali is popular because it is easy to make.

  1. Mille-feuille (500 grams) in a dish.
  2. Sugar (10 spoons) heated in milk (I liter) poured in.
  3. Mascarpone spread over the mix.
  4. Cashews, raisins, and cinnamon powder sprinkled above.

Bake for 15 minutes till caramelized, with heat from the top.

And you are ready to serve Egypt’s national dessert.

--

--

Christina Daniels
The Daily Cuppa

Passionate content creator. Traveller. Author of "Being, Becoming, Being", "I'll Do It My Way: The Incredible Journey of Aamir Khan", "Ginger Soda Lemon Pop".