Proof of Age

The law is taken to ridiculous lengths

Adrienne Beaumont
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Feb 5, 2024

--

Av recent selfie photo of Keeley

Last night, Keeley was dropping me home when I asked her to call into the drive-through bottle shop for a 6 pack of (alcoholic) ginger beer for me— the only thing I crave after drinking water all day.

We pulled in and she asked for James Squire Ginger Beer and I handed my card over. The attendant asked her for her licence to prove she was 18!

I said the ginger beer is mine. But he refused us service. I could have gotten out and walked into the bottle shop or she could have driven home to get her licence but neither of us could be bothered.

Not only is she 35, but she’s 7 months pregnant.

I just laughed. I came home and drank water.

It’s too hot to be drinking wine!

--

--

Adrienne Beaumont
The Daily Cuppa

I’m Australian. I love to travel and write about my adventures.I write about my daily life as a mother and grandmother as well as my past experiences.