Read Me a Story

Read It Aloud

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Mar 4, 2024

--

a group of diverse university students sitting in a circle while one student reads and speaks aloud in a black box theater
“Read Aloud” — AI Image Generated with DALL-E 3

Do you remember when someone last read to you? When did you last read aloud?

When we were kids, our mom read to us before my sister and I went to sleep, well after we learned to read. She’d curl up in the hallway between our rooms and read for 15–20 minutes while we nestled snuggly in our beds.

This was my magic hour. It was when I relaxed, settled, and was soothed by our mother’s voice.

There’s something about reading aloud. Don’t you think?

These last weeks, I have asked students to read aloud to one another. They will perform short stories and children’s literature, but first, they read aloud to one another.

Their reading holds magic.

And, as I listen from the doorway, I can almost hear my mother’s voice.

©A A McRae2024

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites