Santa Claus Melon

Christmas in May?

Photo by CARMEN F MICSA, Wholefoods, Sacramento, CA

On our first 100-degree day, I bought Santa Claus Melon for the first time in my life!

It was Santa Claus Melon sent to cool us off on a scorching late spring day!

“What’s this?” the long dark-haired cashier asked me with eyes as big as the melon.

I showed her my phone with the bar code, as she didn’t know how much it cost, after which she said:

“Thanks for having this ready for me. The melon is free for you.”

“Thanks so much!” I replied.

“Sure thing, and please come back and let me know what the melon tasted like,” she added.

“I will for sure!”

In case you’re wondering … The melon tastes like honeydew. It’s extremely fragrant and an excellent source of vitamin C, potassium, calcium, and iron.

--

--

Carmen Micsa, MA in English, podcaster
The Daily Cuppa

Top writer in Ideas & Food. Mother, BA/MA in English, published author, poet, real estate broker/CEO, marathoner, & avid reader. Author of The Morsels of Love.