Self-Checkout

It used to be what I’d do in a mirror, in private

D. Glenn Miller
Published in
Jan 12, 2024

--

Photo by Mishaal Zahed مشعل زاهد on Unsplash

Now I do it in stores, in public.

I went to the grocery store for a few items. When I got home and pulled out my receipt, I was taken aback. The total was considerably more than I’d expected.

First on the list — panty liners.

I checked the list. Some items were things I’d buy, so I had to think. Did I get refried beans? Not today.

Then I noticed the printed receipt had two sections connected by just one thin tab.

Had the customer before me left before paying. Had I just paid for panty liners, or worse? Refried beans are one thing.

After checking my account, I began to realize it was a receipt the previous patron had left behind.

Whew!

--

--

D. Glenn Miller
The Daily Cuppa

Writer - Thinker - Complainer - Essayist - Grammar Grouch - Use AI to aid with research & often check my work with Grammarly, but I write everything myself.