Spring Peepers Attempt to Wake the Sleeping

Sunday sonnet

William J Spirdione
Published in
Apr 7, 2024

--

Crocus flower growing in leaf litter
Photo by William J Spirdione

I know my hearing isn’t very good.
But listen, there’s no missing that peep sound.
The endless peeping from the frog pond would
win first prize for the loudest noise around.

I hope I don’t sound like their song upsets
me. Though it does start early in the day
and steadily grows louder ‘till it gets
at loud as sirens screaming fire, I say.

There’s no mistaking what’s this time of year.
They’re not the only peepers peeping here.
Plants peeping through with color, loud and clear
will fill our hearts with gladness and good cheer.

Next morning, quiet snow blankets the land.
I guess these peepers wait to make their stand.

Daffodils in snow and freezing rain
Photo by William J Spirdione

Thank you, Katie Michaelson and The Daily Cuppa, for publishing these Sunday sonnets.

--

--

William J Spirdione
The Daily Cuppa

William J Spirdione is a poet who writes sonnets and more about nature and the humans within it.