Stuck in a Elevator Between Floors

Adrienne Beaumont
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2023

--

Our accommodation in Bucharest is a studio apartment in one of those old Communist high rise “brutalist” buildings. The apartment itself is perfect for us but I don’t know how a family would survive. It’s been tastefully decorated and has a separate kitchen and bathroom including washing machine. We are on the 6th floor.

We headed out to forage for food. We stepped into the elevator, closed the doors and pressed 1. We thought that’s where we had to get out. No it was one floor too high and with rickety stairs, stepped back in the elevator and pressed P. We started to descend and then stopped between floors. OMG we are not having a good day today.

Erilyn narrowly escaped death this morning on a roundabout. We heard someone and started shouting. I don’t know if he spoke to someone or just knew how to solve the problem. We had to press another button but not 1 or P.

We followed instructions and escaped. I was glad I wasn’t alone.

All photos are mine

--

--

Adrienne Beaumont
The Daily Cuppa

I’m Australian. I love to travel and write about my adventures.I write about my daily life as a mother and grandmother as well as my past experiences.