Summer Solstice Under a Heat Dome

Sunday sonnet

William J Spirdione
Published in
Jun 23, 2024

--

Pear, butterbur and cleavers in dappled summer sun
Photo by William J Spirdione

A chipmunk goes meandering below
in shrub’s deep shade this sun drenched afternoon.
The air’s too hot to breathe. We both move slow
this warmest week on record, here in June.

I don’t do much at ninety plus degrees.
Mosquitoes swarm in clouds above the green
as dragonflies fly on the humid breeze
and days like this do start to feel routine.

The highest in the sky old sol does rise
while chipmunk finds a little bit to drink,
fights off the thirsty wilting leaves and tries
too hard for this, a tiny drop, I think.

I start to feel the heat affect my head.
I better go inside to cool instead.

Hydrangea, ferns, chives and daisies wilting in the hot solstice sun
Photo by William J Spirdione

Thank you to Katie Michaelson and The Daily Cuppa for publishing these Sunday sonnets.
Welcome to Summer, readers, and thank you for traveling through the seasons with me.

--

--

William J Spirdione
The Daily Cuppa

William J Spirdione is a poet who writes sonnets and more about nature and the humans within it.