The Date

Kindred Soul #4

Kathy Seavey Benson
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Jun 10, 2024

--

Photo by Vladimir Fedotov on Unsplash

The sun shone brightly through the window. Hazel rubbed her eyes and stretched like a kitten. She didn’t get much sleep, all she could do was think about the date she and Michael had made. She still had butterflies in her tummy.

She gazed into the mirror, finding every flaw imaginable. Could he love me? Am I good enough?

The dress her mother made for her was on the bed.

What will I do with my hair? She twisted it into a ponytail and grabbed a pink flower to match the dress.

Quickly she headed downstairs to feed her cat, Mancy.

She wanted this day to be perfect.

A whole new set of butterflies hatched when she saw him at the door. Everything about him was perfect in her book.

--

--

Kathy Seavey Benson
The Daily Cuppa

I"ve wrote poetry for years. and published in a few anthologies, I have written a book and a few songs, three were recorded by Nashville song service.