The Invention of Cold

Riccardo Valle
The Daily Cuppa

--

The invention of cold
Image created by the author with DALL E3.

Winter in Italy doesn’t want to arrive.

The sunny days are warm, the nights just cool. Only the humidity makes the air smell like Christmas.

Nothing more than one might expect from a premature spring.

The grass around needs mowing. Clovers and yellow petals show how warm summer nights are not a distant memory, but a near prediction.

Slow insects creep into the door, cracks like snowflakes, and once inside, they vanish into a domestic slumber.

Late in the evening, from the window overlooking the fields, the sky is black, full of white stars, as cold as in my childhood memories.

Over there, the snow fell as only it can. Swaying, it rested on her shoulders with the promise of wetting them later.

I close my eyes, and for a second I fly away, together with my nostalgia.

--

--