The Quietness and the Solitude

They often feel the same

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa
1 min readSep 1, 2023

--

Photo by Tony Detroit on Unsplash

The wind is my companion
And the sound of falling rain
The quietness and the solitude
They often feel the same.

When alone my sustenance
Are all the elements
Shooting stars, fly past the moon
In magical suspense.

No drifting sounds of music
No TV, or traffic noise
Just moments of reflection
Time to stop and pause.

I share my sojourn with myself
No other living soul
It’s easy to be satisfied
And feel completely whole.

The banter and the chatter
Friendship and love that I adore
Have their own time and place
Yet somehow, I want more.

I feel more connected
With nature as my friend
Each story has a beginning
And each life has an end.

I cannot take it with me
I embrace it whilst I’m here
The elements sustain me
Other times I persevere.

©David Rudder 2023

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.