The Subtle Shades

Of meaning

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa
Sep 7, 2023

--

Photo by Orion on Unsplash

It seems at times between the lines,
The meanings in the gleaning,
Neat nuances aligned with signs,
The subtle shades of meaning.

Expressed in words often heard,
The power of the pencil,
Way below my senses stirred,
My mood is instrumental.

The wind and air often dare,
To sing a song of love,
In a world beyond compare,
A hand inside a glove.

The love we have is liquid,
It flows within my veins,
It seems that I’m addicted,
Combustible in flames.

The past is poised and disappears,
As I fall in love with you,
Tears are music to my ears,
I feel the morning hue.

Past the fast and furious,
Into soliloquy,
Mystified and curious,
Your presence stays with me.

Before the door was open,
It whispered as it closed,
Then the words were spoken,
And our love was composed.

©David Rudder 2023

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.