They Interred Him Wearing a Santa Claus Costume!

was this a misunderstanding, or a backfired joke?

Beachwriter
The Daily Cuppa
Jun 27, 2024

--

“He died last night,” Jeff said. “A hit and run knocked him off his scooter.” It was a tragedy but many individuals die on the roads in the Philippines, some were ex-pat foreigners.

“We’ll have to show respect said my friend,” who had been a Major in the US army and was a professional organiser. “I have everything arranged, and I’ll pick you up at midday.”

By respect he mean we would follow the Pinoy custom and wake the deceased by sitting with them and their family. I find glass fronted coffins disturbing.

Their house was way up in the lush green mountains, and one hell of a walk.

“He wanted to be burred in a Santa Claus outfit,” said his widow.

A joke, I’m sure!

Read More…

--

--

Beachwriter
The Daily Cuppa

I have an unusual way of looking at things and write about my observation and what unfolds in front of me. My newsletter's @ https://kevinnairne.substack.com/