Adrienne Parkhurst
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Feb 27, 2021

--

Two blue beach chairs sitting on beach empty. They face the ocean.
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Today, I lost an $81K check.

I looked in my “later” mail pile. Nope. I checked my “even later” mail pile. Nope. I checked my husband’s office. Nope. I checked my office. Nope. I repeated this routine. Double nope.

Heart thumps.
Who loses a check this big?
Disorganized chumps, that’s who.

Pace quickens.
Did I check the mail piles? Only three times.

Eyes dart.
Recycle can?

Think again.
Recycle bin?

New start.
Stuffed in a book?

Pulse thrums.
Give my journal a look?

Pound the drums!
It’s stuck in the seam!

Hubby clueless.
Sweet Dreams.

Tonight, while my hubby put our boys to bed, I searched for an 401K rollover check. I can be scatterbrained, and things like this happen more than I’d like to admit. So, I’ll wait 20 years to share this story with him (when we’re snowbirds).

If I remember it.

--

--

Adrienne Parkhurst
The Daily Cuppa

Mom. Wife. Writer. Editor. Healthcare Freelance Writer. Lifetime Learner. Flawed Leader. Sharing my life lessons through personal essays and memoirs.