Unexpected Greeting-140

Of the unnatural kind

Men.21times@gmail.com
The Daily Cuppa
1 min readOct 31, 2022

--

Athena

The FBI agent has shocked me beyond rational thought. I feel fear swelling up in me for Jaclyn’s safety as well as my own.

“We have to protect Jaclyn!.”

“What has you rattled?”

“Dr. Pane is making subtle threats that if I were to get out of line she couldn’t guarantee Jaclyn’s recovery or my mental health.”

“Hang tight Jackson, I have a buddy at UoW near Seattle. I’ll get back to you once the transfer papers are settled.”

“And in the meantime?”

“Dumb it down, you know nothing but taking care of yourself and that lovely lady.”

“Copy that.”

I hear the dial tone and hang up. Then look for a hiding place for the cell phone in case the room is searched. Using a large medical pad with edge adhesive, I secure the cell to the back of the toilet tank.

--

--

Men.21times@gmail.com
The Daily Cuppa

Patient of life, attempting to heal oneself by Quill. Transitioning from a profession of technology.