TV

Wednesday (Addams) Is a Mystery

A tiny review

Amanda Laughtland
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Feb 24, 2023

--

Photo by Andrew Seaman on Unsplash

I actively seek out mysteries to watch on TV, but sometimes one finds me.

I expected Wednesday on Netflix to focus on the macabre aspects of The Addams Family, as other “creepy and kooky” adaptations have done, but with a unique emphasis on Wednesday’s experiences at boarding school.

Turns out the show is a supernatural whodunnit, with Wednesday naturally falling into the role of amateur investigator. Oh, and she’s writing a novel on her manual typewriter.

The show also addresses themes of growing up, not fitting in, and dealing with prejudice in society.

The cast is great, and there are some enjoyable nods to the earlier adaptations of The Addams Family. If you like quirky mysteries, Wednesday is a treat.

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
The Daily Cuppa

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!