A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
1 min readMar 25, 2024

What am I to tell my little love?

monarch caterpillar on scarlet milkweed
Author Photo

The caterpillars are escaping!

I saw our kid earlier this morning while volunteering at his school. With big doe eyes, he pleaded with me to please check on his caterpillars. I promised I would.

A few days ago, there were three stout caterpillars and one smaller one.

Yesterday there were only two stout ones and the smaller one. During the day, we watched one leave the plant.

Then there were two.

When I checked this afternoon, the only one left was the smaller one (pictured above). Although it has grown considerably, I didn’t see signs of others.

Maybe they don’t like the new host plants (scarlet milkweed) as much as the old (butterfly weed)?

Maybe they want to find a different place to start their chrysalises?

Whatever the case, I hope our little love won’t be disappointed.

© A A McRae 2024

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites