What is Fasciation?

Dr. Seema Patel (PhD)
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
May 16, 2024

--

Fasciation: Image by author

Fasciation or cresting is a condition where plant tips show abnormal growth due to disturbed hormone signaling. As a result, a flattened, ribbon-like, crested structure is produced.

Environmental and pathogenic causes can trigger hormonal imbalances to create this mutation.

I have seen pictures of fasciation in saguaro cactus and California popy in social media.

In my own garden, I have seen it in a coreopsis plant in a shaded part.

On my walks, I have often seen it in fountainbush or firecracker plant. Yesterday, I saw the above fascinating fasciation.

Have you seen this phenomenon?

It’s incredibly exciting to witness the spectacle and anomalies of nature. Always be curious and mindful.

--

--

Dr. Seema Patel (PhD)
The Daily Cuppa

I write about nature, personal life, health, literature, gardening, psychology, art, bioinformatics, and data. Imparting joy, truth and knowledge is the goal.