A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
May 14, 2024

When Grandma sees the new haircut…

Author-Prompted AI image generated w/DALL-E 3

She’s shocked!
Her firstborn grandson’s gone rogue.

“Oh! E! Your hair! What have you done?”

“Aw, Nona, it’s my summer haircut! Don’t you like it?

“Well I….”

“Doncha’ think it looks cool?

“Who did that to you, my precious boy?

He turns around to look at me.

“Your mother?!!!!”

She gives me a smirk.

Now I love my mother-in-law. I even love these hysterics she’s putting on for his benefit. Our oldest like to shock his grandparents, and she’s an easy target. Does she love his new haircut? She’d probably prefer something else, but I know she loves him. And, she loves me too.

“Well, I guess it’s alright…if your mom says it okay.”

“I love you, Nona.”

I love you too, sweet boy.”

Well played, Nona. Well played.

©A A McRae2024

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites