Who’s Sarah Lancashire (Besides Julia Child)?

Amanda Laughtland
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Mar 19, 2022

--

Sarah Lancashire, wikicommons

I kept seeing previews for Julia, the new show about Julia Child, and I wondered, who’s that actress?

I googled: it’s Sarah Lancashire. I couldn’t be more excited.

I loved Sarah Lancashire in Last Tango in Halifax for her thoughtful portrayal of a woman who “changes lanes” (as my girlfriend would say) and falls for another woman.

She’s also great in Happy Valley as an exhausted yet determined police officer. She excels with characters who are flawed, loving, and trying their best.

I’m looking forward to her Julia Child and might subscribe to HBO. I read some grumpiness about how she doesn’t look or sound like Julia. I hope people give her a chance and come to regard her with the fondness we hold for our culinary heroine.

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
The Daily Cuppa

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!