Day Damn One, Medium.

Dante Jordan
The Daily Dante
Published in
3 min readMay 15, 2016

I’ve been trying to force myself to start The Daily Dante for years now, but it just hasn’t come together. I simply don’t know what to write about, because I want to write about EVERYTHING: movies, music, pop culture, real life, the reason your girl looks like an apricot, etc. Every time I sit down I have a plethora of ideas, but then I start to type and this little voice pops into my head saying “Bruh…You need to pick one topic and stick with that forever.” And when I hear that voice, I leap into a pool of panic because I know that won’t work for me. I simply hate being boxed in; I don’t like structure; I don’t like being stuck; I don’t like being predictable. I just want to go. So instead of being crippled by the fear of the unknown, that’s exactly what I’m going to do: go.

Starting May 16, 2016, I’ll be clicking publish every single day for a year. I don’t want to say a time because I’m not the best about respecting self-imposed deadlines, but that’s something I’m working on. Just know that by 11:59pm CST, there will be something here for your viewing pleasures. It might be 100 words, it might be 1000 words, but the challenge isn’t about length (pause), it’s about producing content every single day in hopes of getting better over time.

I must warn you: I. AM. A. BEGINNER. I’m not the best writer; I’m not the best at grammar; and I write exactly how I speak. I don’t have a niche; I don’t have a voice; I don’t have an angle; I don’t have anything. So this shit will probably be absolute garbo at first. But that doesn’t mean it won’t become incredible in due time, and that’s why you should stick around: to see this caterpillar become a butterfly. Do you know how good I feel when I tell people I’ve been listening to Drake since my sophomore year of high school (2006)? Sure, they don’t give a fuck, but it still feels incredible to be able to say I’ve been around since jump. I literally watched and supported the process of the glo’ up for an entire ten years (and counting) so it kiiiinda feels like I played a role of it. And that’s what I’m offering you: a spot on the team. I’m offering you a chance to jump on the bandwagon early on so that when new fans discover The Boy you can be that snarky asshole that’s like “Pffft. Oh you’re just now finding out? Yeah, I’ve been on that for a minute.” So take it. Follow The Daily Dante, put on your jersey, and take it.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to blast this Views album (Still Here is FLAMES) as I jump into typing my first real article: a movie review of Money Monster. I just wanted to address the question of “Dante, what the fuck is this shit?” before I officially get started. Honest answer: I have absolutely no clue. But finding out is going to be a lot of fun.

Stay Black.

P.S. Yes, the title of this article is a Fresh Prince of Bel-Air reference.

--

--