I Saw the Sun Cry When I Died

Sylvester Amponsah
PenPal
Published in
1 min readOct 17, 2018
Credit: Leonid Afremov

Timeless songs were composed in honor of my name,
Yet the dead do not hear,
I thought I saw a flash of light and wondered its origin,
The many trifles we men occupy ourselves,
Time persisted its strenuous strides to catch infinity,
Tides of the ocean never quite filled the shore,
And my time never felt so short,
I could almost feel the fervent vibration of my mother’s labor pains,
My humble beginnings derided in vain pursuits,
And forbidden questions reverberated in adolescent mind,
How did it come to this?
Life so cherished yet delicately interwoven with fleeting body,
I relished every pleasant instant,

Yet denounced the unexpected briefness,
Like a star awaiting a supernova,

Every tick exacted an imminent demise,
All try to avoid yet so few understand,
Blessing or a curse it may be,
One drop after another the rain dropped from above,
The pleasant dew of heaven had come to say goodbye.

If you enjoyed this poem help others find it by holding the 👏 button until the heavens drop. You can give up to 50 👏

--

--

Sylvester Amponsah
PenPal
Editor for

I am not a role model. I dare not play a role for anyone. I am a real model — flawed and fallible.