​What happens when you launch to 40,000+ people?

Yann Girard
The Daily Entrepreneur
4 min readDec 31, 2016

Yesterday I blasted out a message letting people know about my new project called The Daily Entrepreneur.

And if you’re reading this in your email inbox you’re one of the lucky ones to get the behind the scenes view of some of the stuff I work on.

If you don’t read this in your inbox, make sure that you sing up here to get daily updates like this one to your inbox on entrepreneurship, online businesses, blogging and bulding multiple streams of income online.

So yesterday I sent out a message to let people know about The Daily Entrepreneur. I sent out a letter to my Medium followers (an email sent through Medium), to my email subscribers and to my Facebook followers.

So how many people did I reach? I’d say a bit more than 40,000 people.

So how many people ended up subscribing to The Daily Entrepreneur?

As of writing this 260 people clicked on the link I shared inside that mail.

And out of those 260 people 44 people signed up.

Now you might say WTF?! How is this even possible? This must be a joke, right!?

A reach of more than 40,000 people and only 40 subscribers? That’s 0,1% conversion rate…

So here’s the thing…

Those are the numbers we’re talking about when you want to do stuff online. Those are real internet numbers and not some mumbo jumbo stuff.

Sure, it was highly untargeted, I didn’t really pitch my offer very well. It was just a very sloppy email I’ve put together. I could probably have increased that number to 400+ if I tried harder and did all sorts of things like having different funnels, retargeting, etc.

But there are many factors you won’t be able to influence. Things like spam folders (Gmail!), average click rates of 2–3% per message you send, age of your list/subscribers, etc.

So why am I sharing this with you?

Because I want to call out all the BS that many people out there are preaching.

Many people are trying to sell you the dream. They tell you to “buy my course, videos or whatever and you’ll get rich.”

But that’s just not how it works.

I know. Making $1000 a month on the side sounds like a piece of cake. That’s why it’s such a great pitch.

That’s a little more than $30 every day.

But have you ever successfully sold ANYTHING online? And I’m not talking about some coaching/consulting services here.

Let me tell you this. $30 every single day isn’t as easy as it sounds. As a matter of fact those first $30 a day are probably the toughest out there.

Because you’ve gotta find the stuff that works. But to find the stuff that works takes time. A hell lot of time. It took me almost 3 years. That’s what it takes most of the folks out there.

But you usually only hear about them after those 3 years.

Now you might say, sure Yann but you’re just a “small” player in the game.

And you’re 100% right.

But you know what?

Those aren’t just the numbers of “smaller” players in the game like me.

Over the years I’ve watched (and been part of a few) launches of some of the big names out there. Sometimes as an affiliate, sometimes just on the sidelines.

This year I was part of a launch of a new digital product by one of the biggest names out there. He did an affiliate launch (hundreds of people promoting his product in exchange for a commission of the sales).

He was able to get more than 100,000 new subscribers.

And out of those 100,000 people on day 1 only 1% of the people ended up buying the product.

Sure, that’s still 1000 people and with a sales price of his product of more than $100 he did more than $100,000 in a single day.

I know. This sounds great.

But how the hell do you get 100,000 new subscribers for a product launch?

And don’t forget that those are the numbers from a “big” player in the game.

Those are the numbers we’re talking about when you want to start a serious online business. I’ve seen it over and over again.

Again, those aren’t some small kids from around the block that decided to launch a digital product or something.

Those are the numbers of all the gurus and experts out there. I’ve seen it over and over again. The big names convert maybe 2–3%, max!

And those are products that already have product market fit and have been tested over and over again.

So what’s the lesson here?

Know the numbers and know what you’re buying into when you’re buying.

Making $30 every single day online sounds easy. Too easy…

The truth is that to be able to make those $30 online every single day you’ve gotta work longer and harder than you’ve ever worked in your entire life…

P.S. If you want to receive one email like this one (usually shorter) every day, then you can join The Daily Entrepreneur here.

--

--