Sit tight. I'm going on an adventure. (Photo by Juan Di Nella)

I am going to blog every day for a year

Karen Hodkinson
The Daily Journey
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2016

--

Today marks day one of my blog every day for a year project.

It was Jonas Ellison’s post about how his life changed when he embarked on 365 days of blogging that gave me the idea. Lots of people have attempted the same project, but until now, I was never sufficiently moved to want to do it myself.

There was something in Jonas’s piece that made me think: it’s time to stop reading about and envying other people’s life-changing personal projects and jump straight into one of my own.

I particularly loved this observation Jonas wrote about his experience:

Blogging every day forces you to notice the details of your life. You need fodder for the day’s post. And you’ll scour your world to get it. You become hyper-aware. You find ways to turn little subtleties into big ideas. You start writing with questions only to be faced with answers by the time you reach the end of the post. Your headspace literally becomes transformed.

Yes, sir. I would love a piece of that too.

I don’t know where this year-long journey is going to take me. Will I consider quitting seven days into it? Quite possibly. Will I soldier on through the days when the ideas are few and far between? I don’t know. Will I run out of things to say? Probably.

But until I try, I won’t know. So here goes nothing.

--

--

Karen Hodkinson
The Daily Journey

Content marketer by day, writer by night + a mum every single day | Editorial Director of @Sothebys | Ex Managing Editor of @i_D + @TatlerUK.